Tags

I’m a great believer in luck and I find the harder I work, the more I have of it. ~Thomas Jefferson

I came across an article a while back about luck and what it is that people who are deemed lucky do differently than regular folks that makes them so lucky. It was interesting to see that the only thing that they really seemed to do differently was to open themselves up to the unknown and breaking out of routine. Is being lucky really that easy?
The principles of luck according to luck psychology:
1. Maximize chance opportunity
2. Listen to lucky hunches
3. Expect good fortune
4. Turn bad luck into good

I don’t know about you, but I could apply those principles to betting on a horse at the races and come up $20 poorer (yeah I know, I am such a gambler).

Two weeks ago I was approached about a possible opportunity at a different department. Whooo! Opportunity and my hunches were saying full steam ahead.  And then last week my company got sold. Bad timing? Bad luck? Who knows. All I know is that all of a sudden I have been thinking about things a little differently.

I am kinda feeling like I have just received a giant cosmic kick in the pants. A rare opportunity to sit back and go: what do you really want? So I am giving myself a deadline – March 31, 2015. Clean final draft is due then. Because that is what I want to do: write.

All I need is a little luck… and a lot of hard work.

