Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Last week in class my first chapter was reviewed.

And as I suspected, the world I had created didn’t translate clearly from my head into the first chapter. Back to world building for me.

I may really hate the methodology of that class but it is definitely making me take a closer look at the structure of my story. And since the structure is the foundation upon which you build your story, it needs to be flawless.

To steal the famous words of the Rolling Stones:Rolling Stones-LOVE this song

I may have wanted a class that gave me self-editing and revision tips with exercises and worksheets, but maybe I am getting what I need to whip this story into its true shape. My homework this week is to restructure my outline so that there are more obstacles for my main character, Tad, and make him go on a truly epic quest.

Structuring Your Novel: Essential Keys for Writing an Outstanding Story

Normally I would have two weeks to complete, but there was an opening for an extra critique next week. So I volunteered. Yeah, I know, slightly masochistic of me to try to write another outline in 3 days, but here I am trying to do it just the same.

Or at least I would be if I wasn’t procrastinating like crazy and being a grouch over the noisy noisy leaf blower my neighbour is currently operating outside my window.

Okay, okay. I am ending this now and going back to my outline.

To those of you who started Nanowrimo today – good luck. I almost wish that all I had to do was meet a word count this month rather than be critical, logical, and realistic about my work.

