Tags

, , , ,

Story outline critique day came and went. It wasn’t quite the bloodbath I was anticipating. The instructor had some very valid points, such as since my story takes place in the future and it is a reality that nobody else but me knows, I have to make my world crystal clear to the reader. Fair enough.

On the other hand he asked me to make Tad’s brother the main character, rather than Tad. Say what?! No only is that a no. It is a big fat, shout it from the roof tops, hell no.

The instructor did something similar to other people in the class. One got told his story had been written before and that his premise wasn’t believable. Another student, like me, got told to make a minor character the main character.

And this is where I disagree with the methodology of this class. There is barely any discussion from the other students and most of the critique comes in the form of self-righteous monologue from the instructor. And he says some things that are completely off the wall and even contradicts his edicts on your work from week to week. I wish this class was more revision exercises than being lectured by a ranting pedantic.

Anyway, I digress. What I meant to be writing is that I will be digging my heels and presenting my first chapter with Tad as the main character. Sure there has been some remodeling and editing done to the first chapter. But Tad stays.

I am writing my story, my way. Yes, there are plot points that need to be clarified and obstacles that need to be made larger to give the story more drama. But I believe in my characters and the premise of the story – and I refuse to get my story twisted up because some lecturer believes that teaching a class makes him owner of the truth about MY work.

I know that sounds a little arrogant and maybe it is. But if I don’t defend my characters an my story, who will?

20131024-174329.jpg

Sometimes you just have to trust yourself. And just follow what your guy says is right.

