Tags

, , , , ,

As you know, I spent the week creating a story outline based on what I have written for my revision class.

This is what most story structures are supposed to look like:

Unfortunately this is what my story structure currently looks like:

Bad story structure

Bad graphic of a bad story structure

I think my story arc may be a little flat at certain points, nonetheless,  I sent it to my classmates (filled with grammar errors I might add- I am just having that kind of day!). I am expecting it to fully get ripped to shreds by the instructor.

I also sent it to my dad, I have been giving him updates of how my class is going and have been talking to him about the concept of the hero’s journey (speak in Lord of the Rings analogies and my dad turns into a great storyline sounding-board). And after he read the story outline his comment was: so what was your hero’s quest and where is the end?

Ugh! Bullet to the heart! My story has no quest? And you can’t tell what the resolution of the quest is?! Damn it. I think he may have a point.

I know that a lot of what I am saying is me being a little neurotic (is there a writer out there who isn’t?), perhaps, I am even being a little impatient with the process as well (I have certainly never claimed patience as a virtue I possess). What was I expecting that the first draft would be golden?! How bad is it that I really want to answer “Kind of was” to that?

I mean it took JK Rowling over 6 years to write the first Harry Potter. Why would my crazy brain even think would my WIP would have a perfect story line on the first draft?! KOOK-KOO!

But the more I spoke with my dad, the more I saw that not everything was lost. I was missing scenes that would make more of an impact when there is supposed to be a climax in the story. I also have to work in some more obstacles into my Act 2.

In fact, I started seeing the holes and the ways to fill them in such a manner that I ended up writing to the instructor asking him if my solutions would work. So now I wait until Tuesday for the feedback. I hate waiting.

"Whatever difficulty you face, there are time-tried ways you can listen your way through. Because listening is the doorway to everything that matters. It enlivens the heart the way breathing enlivens the lungs. We listen to awaken our heart. We do this to stay vital and alive." Mark Nepo

This is a process and I need to honor the process. Feedback, find the cracks in story, fill them in. Repeat.

