Tags

, , , , ,

For my revision course I have to submit a story outline, a break down chapter by chapter of my entire story. And it is torture.

Really, it is. I don’t think I had read the entire story ever and as I summarize every chapter I am starting to see the holes or the places where I have written pages of unnecessary prose. And to make matters worse, I can’t find my notebook that has the outline for the last few chapters as well as the chapters I had written! If you were a black notebook, where would you hide?

And now that I am revising, my old friend doubt is paying me a visit. Can I really make this work?

Don't have doubt

It should be interesting to see what gets said in class about my story.

Last week,  we started to read some of the stories, and the format of the class was not what I was expecting. I was expecting a round table open discussion format and what I got was the teacher, speaking for 35 minutes about each piece. He would give out ideas of what he thought the story should be and where the author should take the story. I don’t know if I agree with how he did this, because in most cases, he only had partials of every story. And if anyone tried to interject he would rather condescendingly say that that is what he was saying to begin with.

There is a part of me that is really annoyed at his methodology. But then there is another part of me that is sitting there going: I am not there to be coddled, I am there to revise my story. So if this gruff, slightly pedantic, condescending man gives me some insight and makes me do the revisions that I have procrastinated doing for 2 months,  then so be it.

All I know is that he has forced me to create a story outline and I am seeing the gaps that I need to work on. And I know without a doubt that there are going to be rewrites and modifications to what I have already.

.

