Tags

, , , ,

I started to read my classmates work for my revision class today. It is always interesting to see what other people are working on. I am finding that sometimes I like the premise of the story and hate the writing style and vice versa. Reading their work is making me very nervous about what I have to submit the week after next.

I will admit that I haven’t really edited my work at all in the year that I have been writing the WIP. It has, as I have said before, been about getting the words out on paper. And while I do put a lot of faith in grammatical structure, I know that for a draft a missing comma is not the end of the world as long as you then go back and FIX IT. Yet, as I am reading these stories I find myself editing and cringing at the adjectives used by my classmates (hello – bitter grey door).

I guess, I have to turn off the writer a little and turn on the reader. Sentence structure can be fixed. And I need to be constructive so that they are able to give me the same kind of feedback.

Inspiration for those long days of editing . . .

I guess now that I have read what the other people have written I have to redouble my effort to fix my own work.  After I have lunch, because who can write on an empty stomach?

