Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Yes, I admit I am procrastinating a little. And though my word goal today is 3000 words and I am only at 1034, I need a bit of a mental break.

I am half way to my total word count goal for this novel – I have no idea why I am so obsessed with word counts, I am pretty satisfied with what I have so far. My characters haven’t always done or said what I had plotted out for them, but I guess that is the nature of characters. They are stubborn things. And even with a brief writing hiatus – things at work have been a little crazy and all consuming, I have feel like I am making good progress.

It has been a while since I truly set out a goal for myself and followed through on it. Yes, I will admit I am a bit of a half-asser sometimes, project picked up and dropped on a whim. But this write-a-book challenge that I set for myself is showing me that if I want something bad enough I really truly can persevere.

The walking over to the library during my lunch hour thing that I started is working better than I could have ever imagined. Not only because it is making my story move along faster, but because somehow, through the magic of putting pen to paper, I return to my office relaxed and ready to tackle the rest of the afternoon.

And so, even if this task I have set for myself is proving to be harder than I anticipated and taking longer than I thought it would, the process itself is making me happy. Even when I am procrastinating.

Few things are impossible to diligence and skill. Great works are performed not by strength, but by perseverance.”
Samuel Johnson

I guess what I am trying to get to is that if something matter enough and makes you happy, stick to it. No matter how hard, or how impossible it seems. Sure, every writer has publishing dreams, but truthfully if it satisfies the creative monsters of your soul and makes you happy, there is nothing wrong with that. What happens after, publishing or not publishing,  should be the proverbial cherry on the top. After all I am doing this for me, nobody else.

However,  I am honest enough to admit that the publishing dream is there… I don’t know many people who write stories for the sake of writing them.  But for now there are words to write before I can even begin to truly put a plan in place to satisfy that dream. On thing at a time, my friends.

So back to my WIP I go. Happy writing everyone.

What is written without effort is in general read without pleasure – Samuel Johnson

