Tags

, , , ,

I’ve been writing again. And reading about writing and procrastinating about writing.

I have 6,000 of the WIP I started back in November as part of National Write a Novel Month. And I am stuck. No it isn’t writer’s block (at least I don’t think it is). It is more a case of I have no idea where the story is going beyond my original premise. I know where they start and where they end. But I have no idea how they get there.

Anyone that writes is familiar with the old argument of plotters vs. pantsers. Me, I always thought that I was a pantser. I could just sit and free write and let my pen travel down which ever convoluted path it chose to take. However, I noticed recently, as I have attempted to make writing a habit again, that the more I try to get this story out of my brain without having organized it, the more I find myself getting sidetracked.

However, I am not sure I even know how to become a plotter. My concept of writing an outline consists of creating a dry formatted roman numeral monster for my thesis. Having said that I must admit that it took me 8 months to create that outline for my thesis (research included) and then it only took me 6 weeks to write my thesis.

Hmmm, there may be something there. I think I am just going to have to buck up and stop seeing writing as a free flow that happens whenever the muse strikes. Perhaps what I need in order to stop procrastinating is to format it as I did with my thesis. Part of the reason that outlining and research took me 8 months was because I was enjoying the research so there is no reason why I couldn’t enjoy creating an outline for my WIP. It would certainly be more productive that the lassiez-faire approach I have taken so far which is resulting in a WIP that is stuck in neutral.

OK. Game plan for this weekend. Create an outline. How hard can it be?

