Tags

, , ,

Last year November came and went with the promise of participating in NaNoWriMO and I barely wrote a word. This year I was determined was the year I was going to put butt in chair, fingers to keyboard and write!

Up until a week ago I had no idea what I was going to write. Not an inkling of a plot. Then I went to my writing class and was given an assignment – to pull a name out of the white pages and create a character.

I don’t have the white pages . I do however have a massive database at work, out of which I pulled a name. The assignment was due at 7 and I started to write at around  6, half an hour later and quick character sketch later I ended my piece with the words: Tad Pepper was doomed.

As I walked to class I realized that it was bugging me –  why was Tad Pepper doomed and how had he become the main character? You see the name I had pulled from my database was not Tad Pepper, but Richard Schilling. I read the piece in class and was asked – so what happens to Tad? I went to bed with that question going rounds in my head.

The next morning I woke up early, my head still full Tad Pepper and Richard Schilling. But somehow instead of questions I had answers so as I sat in the predawn hours (I can’t wait for day lights savings) to drink my coffee I started to plot. And ta-da plot for NaNoWriMo! I was so excited! Characters kept popping in my head – plot lines invaded my morning commute.

And then today arrived and I sat to write. Note to all of you doing NaNoWriMo this year or any future years – don’t buy a new iPhone the first of November. If ever a piece of technology designed to make you procrastinate the iPhone it definitely it! I downloaded apps, I FaceTimed with my cousin in Montreal, I Skyped with my brother in Australia, I Facebooked my friends and called my mother. Four hours after I got home and I have barely written 1200 words. 300 of which I had already written for my writing class (but shhh- don’t tell anyone).

So lessons I learned today:

1. New iPhone and writing don’t really mesh.

2. No matter how excited you feel about a plot and how prepared you think you may be. Sitting down and writing those darn 1600 words a day is really all that matters.

